Must-see-Movie: La La Land

Award season is upon us and I for one am incredibly excited – it is one of my favourite times of year. So tonight I was obviously going to go see La La Land on its UK release date.

There has been a lot of hype around this film, with a lot of mysterious trailers gracing our screens for months. Tiny snippets of what has been deemed to be one of the most anticipated romances of the year. Standing out from the crowd with its colourful costumes, Hollywood sets and wonderful pairing in Ryan Gosling and Emma Stone La La la-la-land-dancingLand has been nominated for an astounding amount of awards already this year. Oh and did I mention it is a musical?

I for one don’t mind a musical. It is not my genre of choice by any means, in fact I always enter them with a hint of skepticism surrounding my potential enjoyment of the next 2-3 hours (sometimes more!). So naturally I asked myself within 5 minutes of this film – what is this all about? I don’t understand the hype. Can I really sit here through all this singing? Give it another 5 minutes an you’ll be hooked. I promise you.

Watching the story of Seb (Gosling), a failing jazz musician with a dream of opening his own bar, and Mia (Stone), an aspiring actress getting lost in the sea of hopefuls in Los Angeles, play out on the screen truly enthralled me. I found myself smiling from the depths of my heart, truely smiling, at their continual meetings. I melted as their love story progressed. And I cried for them, and with la-la-land-featured-image-gosling-stonethem, as their dreams play out before you. Anyone who has ever had a dream for their life, truly romanticized their career, can’t not ride this rollercoaster with them. The reality of their stories is both heart fluttering and soul destroying. I’m not going to lie, I left the cinema with a heavy heart wondering where my life will go.

The soundtrack to this musical is charming and unique. I’ve never heard anything like it. The way it is weaved into their lives is almost magical. I think there was just the right amount of singing to speaking for the musical to work in a way that will entice a broad audience. I have concerns for some criticism that might face Gosling as a singer, but for me it was fine. The chemistry the two had, and the way they moved in time and form together stole the show and my complete attention. I genuinely did not care one bit that there were 3 people in front of me talking throughout, that is how lost i was in this film.

Don’t miss out on this beauty, and make sure you see it on the big screen.

 

 

Leave a Reply

